Publish with us

Follow Penguin

Follow Penguinsters

Follow Hind Pocket Books

Ogd

Ogd

A mostly random and profoundly nonsensical enquiry into the nature of apocalypse, cartography, education, hairstyling, interdimensional travel, intertemporal travel, mathematics, monarchy, philosophy, physics, poetry, publishing, religion and toenails.

Anushka Ravishankar
Select Preferred Format

Once upon a time, in the kingdom of Ogd, a Messiah was born … with her foot in her mouth.

This might be her story.

Her position of foetal gaffe allows her to eat her toenails, which nourish her and make her toenails grow so that she can eat them. Apart from the practicality of the situation, this also is the basis of her profound teachings. As the Messiah travels through many dimensions, her followers learn the importance of bells, nirvana, clean feet, Klein bottles and phonetics, among diverse other things.

Ding dong.

Following in the tradition of Lewis Carroll, Anushka Ravishankar writes nonsense prose, which addresses complex issues of the modern-day world with a deep and abiding meaninglessness.

Ogd is a profoundly nonsensical and hilarious fable by the bestselling children’s author Anushka Ravishankar. While Anushka is famous for her nonsense poetry for younger kids, this is her first book of nonsense prose for older readers. Literary nonsense, such as that written by Lewis Carroll, Dr Suess and Edward Lear, is often used to look at complex issues from a different angle. Ogd deals with many issues of daily life, important and unimportant, such as cartography, education, hairstyling, mathematics, monarchy, philosophy, physics, poetry, publishing, religion and toenails. The book encourages the reader to both laugh at many of the current preoccupations in the world and encourages readers but also to think more deeply about them.

Imprint: Duckbill

Published: Oct/2020

ISBN: 9780143450900

Length : 104 Pages

MRP : ₹299.00

Ogd

A mostly random and profoundly nonsensical enquiry into the nature of apocalypse, cartography, education, hairstyling, interdimensional travel, intertemporal travel, mathematics, monarchy, philosophy, physics, poetry, publishing, religion and toenails.

Anushka Ravishankar

Once upon a time, in the kingdom of Ogd, a Messiah was born … with her foot in her mouth.

This might be her story.

Her position of foetal gaffe allows her to eat her toenails, which nourish her and make her toenails grow so that she can eat them. Apart from the practicality of the situation, this also is the basis of her profound teachings. As the Messiah travels through many dimensions, her followers learn the importance of bells, nirvana, clean feet, Klein bottles and phonetics, among diverse other things.

Ding dong.

Following in the tradition of Lewis Carroll, Anushka Ravishankar writes nonsense prose, which addresses complex issues of the modern-day world with a deep and abiding meaninglessness.

Ogd is a profoundly nonsensical and hilarious fable by the bestselling children’s author Anushka Ravishankar. While Anushka is famous for her nonsense poetry for younger kids, this is her first book of nonsense prose for older readers. Literary nonsense, such as that written by Lewis Carroll, Dr Suess and Edward Lear, is often used to look at complex issues from a different angle. Ogd deals with many issues of daily life, important and unimportant, such as cartography, education, hairstyling, mathematics, monarchy, philosophy, physics, poetry, publishing, religion and toenails. The book encourages the reader to both laugh at many of the current preoccupations in the world and encourages readers but also to think more deeply about them.

Select Preferred Format

Anushka Ravishankar

Anushka Ravishankar, often called the Indian Dr Suess, has been a pioneer in writing both nonsense in contemporary English in India and also picture books. Some of the earliest Indian picture books to be published internationally and win international awards were by her, such as Tiger on a Tree, Catch that Crocodile and Elephants Never Forget. She has gone on to collaborate with many international illustrators to create some extraordinary picture books.

More recently, her chapter books have also been much loved, such as Moin and the Monster and the Zain and Ana series. She is also the co-founder of the much acclaimed indie publishing house, Duckbill.

The blend of humour, realism and nonsense in Anushka's writing, as well as the charm of the characters she creates has won her many fans in India and internationally.

More By The Author

Hey Diddle Diddle (Hook Books)

Hey Diddle Diddle (Hook Books)

Anushka Ravishankar
The Sherlock Holmes Connection

The Sherlock Holmes Connection

Anushka Ravishankar, Martin Widmark, Katarina Genar, Bikram Ghosh
Moin the Monster Songster

Moin the Monster Songster

Anushka Ravishankar, Anitha Balachandran
Moin and the monster

Moin and the monster

Anushka Ravishankar, Anitha Balachandran
Storyteller

Storyteller

Anushka Ravishankar

The nuclear genesis of the Kingdom of Ogd

Once upon a time, in the kingdom of Ogd, a Messiah was born … with her foot in her mouth. This might be her story. Her position of foetal gaffe allows her to eat her toenails, which nourish her and make her toenails grow so that she can eat them. Apart from the practicality of […]