Publish with us

Follow Penguin

Follow Penguinsters

Follow Hind Pocket Books

Ogd

Ogd

A mostly random and profoundly nonsensical enquiry into the nature of apocalypse, cartography, education, hairstyling, interdimensional travel, intertemporal travel, mathematics, monarchy, philosophy, physics, poetry, publishing, religion and toenails.

Anushka Ravishankar
Select Preferred Format

Once upon a time, in the kingdom of Ogd, a Messiah was born … with her foot in her mouth.

This might be her story.

Her position of foetal gaffe allows her to eat her toenails, which nourish her and make her toenails grow so that she can eat them. Apart from the practicality of the situation, this also is the basis of her profound teachings. As the Messiah travels through many dimensions, her followers learn the importance of bells, nirvana, clean feet, Klein bottles and phonetics, among diverse other things.

Ding dong.

Following in the tradition of Lewis Carroll, Anushka Ravishankar writes nonsense prose, which addresses complex issues of the modern-day world with a deep and abiding meaninglessness.

Ogd is a profoundly nonsensical and hilarious fable by the bestselling children’s author Anushka Ravishankar. While Anushka is famous for her nonsense poetry for younger kids, this is her first book of nonsense prose for older readers. Literary nonsense, such as that written by Lewis Carroll, Dr Suess and Edward Lear, is often used to look at complex issues from a different angle. Ogd deals with many issues of daily life, important and unimportant, such as cartography, education, hairstyling, mathematics, monarchy, philosophy, physics, poetry, publishing, religion and toenails. The book encourages the reader to both laugh at many of the current preoccupations in the world and encourages readers but also to think more deeply about them.

Imprint: Duckbill

Published: Oct/2020

ISBN: 9780143450900

Length : 104 Pages

MRP : ₹299.00

Ogd

A mostly random and profoundly nonsensical enquiry into the nature of apocalypse, cartography, education, hairstyling, interdimensional travel, intertemporal travel, mathematics, monarchy, philosophy, physics, poetry, publishing, religion and toenails.

Anushka Ravishankar

Once upon a time, in the kingdom of Ogd, a Messiah was born … with her foot in her mouth.

This might be her story.

Her position of foetal gaffe allows her to eat her toenails, which nourish her and make her toenails grow so that she can eat them. Apart from the practicality of the situation, this also is the basis of her profound teachings. As the Messiah travels through many dimensions, her followers learn the importance of bells, nirvana, clean feet, Klein bottles and phonetics, among diverse other things.

Ding dong.

Following in the tradition of Lewis Carroll, Anushka Ravishankar writes nonsense prose, which addresses complex issues of the modern-day world with a deep and abiding meaninglessness.

Ogd is a profoundly nonsensical and hilarious fable by the bestselling children’s author Anushka Ravishankar. While Anushka is famous for her nonsense poetry for younger kids, this is her first book of nonsense prose for older readers. Literary nonsense, such as that written by Lewis Carroll, Dr Suess and Edward Lear, is often used to look at complex issues from a different angle. Ogd deals with many issues of daily life, important and unimportant, such as cartography, education, hairstyling, mathematics, monarchy, philosophy, physics, poetry, publishing, religion and toenails. The book encourages the reader to both laugh at many of the current preoccupations in the world and encourages readers but also to think more deeply about them.

Select Preferred Format

Anushka Ravishankar

Anushka Ravishankar is the author of several international award-winning books. She has written over thirty books-verse, fiction and non-fiction, many of which have been translated into several languages and several of which have won awards, both national and international.

More By The Author

Photosynthesis for Smartypants

Photosynthesis for Smartypants

Anushka Ravishankar
Gravity for Smartypants

Gravity for Smartypants

Anushka Ravishankar
Evolution for Smartypants

Evolution for Smartypants

Anushka Ravishankar
The Solar System for Smartypants

The Solar System for Smartypants

Anushka Ravishankar
The Storyteller

The Storyteller

Anushka Ravishankar
Hey Diddle Diddle (Hook Books)

Hey Diddle Diddle (Hook Books)

Anushka Ravishankar
The Sherlock Holmes Connection

The Sherlock Holmes Connection

Anushka Ravishankar, Martin Widmark, Katarina Genar, Bikram Ghosh
Moin the Monster Songster

Moin the Monster Songster

Anushka Ravishankar, Anitha Balachandran

The nuclear genesis of the Kingdom of Ogd

Once upon a time, in the kingdom of Ogd, a Messiah was born … with her foot in her mouth. This might be her story. Her position of foetal gaffe allows her to eat her toenails, which nourish her and make her toenails grow so that she can eat them. Apart from the practicality of […]