Publish with us

Follow Penguin

Follow Penguinsters

Follow Hind Pocket Books

About Us

We are a part of Penguin Random House, a global trade publisher.

In India, we have grown to become one of the most recognized names in publishing. Since 2018, we have also been publishing in Hindi and other languages, such as Marathi, Gujarati, Tamil, Telugu, Kannada, Malayalam, Bengali and Urdu. Along with books for adults and children, we also have a rich collection of audiobooks and e-books, and many of our stories have been adapted into films and web series. We publish across genres—literary fiction, romance, thrillers, fantasy, memoirs, biography, self-help, mind, body and spirit, historical non-fiction, politics, creative non-fiction, health and wellness, children’s literature and young-adult fiction and non-fiction, just to name a few.

We have discovered and published some of the greatest writers of our time and given readers some of the most iconic and memorable books, including three Booker Prize-winning novels: The God of Small Things, The Inheritance of Loss and Life of Pi. Some of India’s favourite and legendary writers, such as Amitav Ghosh, Arundhati Roy, Sudha Murty, Ruskin Bond, Khushwant Singh, A.P.J. Abdul Kalam (former president of India), Shashi Tharoor, Upamanyu Chatterjee, Satyajit Ray and Namita Gokhale, to name a few, have published with Penguin. Many have gone on to win virtually every major literary prize, including the Nobel Prize, the Booker Prize, the Magsaysay Award, the Jnanpith Award, the Sahitya Akademi Award and the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize. Penguin authors have also been recipients of the Bharat Ratna and the Padma Vibhushan, India’s highest civilian honours. We have also published bestselling books by popular authors, such as Durjoy Datta, S. Hussain Zaidi, Ravinder Singh, Sudeep Nagarkar, Novoneel Chakraborty, Sadhguru, Gaur Gopal Das, Krishna Udayasankar, Saurabh Mukherjea, Chandramouli Venkatesan, Prakash Iyer, R. Gopalakrishnan, Harish Bhat and many more.



Penguin came to India in 1985 and began publishing in 1987, with only six books in its catalogue. Cut to 2020, we are now thirty-five years young in the region, publishing over 250 new titles every year, with an active backlist of over 3,000 titles.

Since our inception, it has been our commitment to uphold and add to the rich literary legacy of our country. With Penguin Classics, we expanded our portfolio to include books across genres. Today, we are known for our selection of modern fiction as well as narrative non-fiction, across categories like biography, travel, business, politics, history, religion and philosophy, lifestyle, cookery, health and fitness, sports and leisure, and illustrated and children’s books.

In 2007, we launched the Penguin Annual Lecture, which is one of the most prestigious and eagerly awaited cultural events each year. The lecture series has featured some of the world’s most respected leaders, thinkers and writers.       These are the luminaries who have delivered lectures in this one-of-a-kind series: journalist and writer Thomas Friedman (in 2007); diplomat and writer Chris Patten (2008); the Nobel Prize-winning economist Amartya Sen (2009); eminent historian Ramachandra Guha (2010); the renowned spiritual leader His Holiness the Dalai Lama (2011); the Bharat Ratna awardee scientist and former president of India Dr A.P.J. Abdul Kalam (2012); superstar and cultural icon Amitabh Bachchan (2013); bestselling author Dan Brown (2014); legendary writer Ruskin Bond (2015); the author of the wildly popular Wimpy Kid series, Jeff Kinney (2016); the UNICEF ambassador and internationally acclaimed superstar Priyanka Chopra (2017); acclaimed historian Professor Yuval Noah Harari (2018); and the celebrated writer and philanthropist Sudha Murty (2019).